Dover NASCAR: Kyle Larson ends two-year winless streak

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Kyle Larson ended a 75-race streak dating back to 2017 without a NASCAR Cup race victory by winning at Dover.

Larson was the early challenger to Joe Gibbs Racing driver Denny Hamlin, who was celebrating his 500th Cup start.

Polesitter Hamlin convincingly won the first stage and was dominating the early stages of the second.

Larson faded slightly in the middle of the 400-lap contest, with Martin Truex Jr becoming the main challenger to Hamlin, before coming back into the frame towards the end of the second stage.

That was, in part, due to Hamlin struggling to get past Team Penske’s Joey Logano.

Logano was running more than 20 laps down after missing the start due to a broken rear axle. Truex was able to capitalise on Hamlin being impeded and took the second stage.

Then, at the subsequent pitstop, Truex was slow after a mechanic slipped while servicing him. This dropped him back to sixth and allowed Larson to control the final stage from the front.

Truex worked his way back up to second, finishing 1.503 seconds behind Larson at the flag, while Hamlin faded to fifth after reporting engine issues during the final stage.

Alex Bowman consistently worked his way up the order from 12th to manage third place for Hendrick ahead of Kevin Harvick, who was towards the front of the field throughout.

Logano was not the only playoff contender to suffer with issues. Ryan Blaney’s day came to an early end after he reported having no brakes on his Penske Ford, and Chase Elliot’s race was over after just eight laps due to an engine failure.

This leaves all three with a lot of work to do in the remaining two races of the round of 12, despite Logano reclaiming a small number of spots through the misfortune of others and finishing 34th.

William Byron was running strongly before serving a penalty for speeding in the pits. He dropped out of the top 10 and failed to recover, ending up 13th.

Kyle Busch was another contender to face a penalty, but he recovered to finish well inside the top 10 in sixth, ahead of Matt DiBenedetto, Jimmie Johnson, Kurt Busch and Clint Bowyer.

Brad Keselowski finished just outside in 11th, making little impact on the top 10 through much of the race.

Race result

Pos Driver Team Car Laps Gap
1 Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 400 2h56m49.s
2 Martin Truex Jr. Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 400 1.578s
3 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 400 8.568s
4 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 400 9.017s
5 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 400 15.848s
6 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 400 22.202s
7 Matt DiBenedetto Leavine Family Racing Toyota 400 22.895s
8 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 400 23.908s
9 Kurt Busch Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 399 1 Lap
10 Clint Bowyer Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 399 1 Lap
11 Brad Keselowski Team Penske Ford 399 1 Lap
12 Paul Menard Wood Brothers Racing Ford 398 2 Laps
13 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 398 2 Laps
14 Daniel Suarez Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 398 2 Laps
15 Erik Jones Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 398 2 Laps
16 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Roush Fenway Racing Ford 398 2 Laps
17 Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 398 2 Laps
18 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 398 2 Laps
19 Ryan Preece JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 396 4 Laps
20 Darrell Wallace Jr. Richard Petty Motorsports Chevrolet 395 5 Laps
21 Daniel Hemric Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 394 6 Laps
22 Ryan Newman Roush Fenway Racing Ford 393 7 Laps
23 Ty Dillon Germain Racing Chevrolet 393 7 Laps
24 Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports Ford 391 9 Laps
25 Matt Tifft Front Row Motorsports Ford 390 10 Laps
26 Landon Cassill StarCom Racing Chevrolet 389 11 Laps
27 David Ragan Front Row Motorsports Ford 388 12 Laps
28 Corey LaJoie Go FAS Racing Ford 385 15 Laps
29 B.J. McLeod Petty Ware Racing Chevrolet 382 18 Laps
30 Joe Nemechek Premium Motorsports Chevrolet 381 19 Laps
31 Ross Chastain Premium Motorsports Chevrolet 380 20 Laps
32 J.J. Yeley Rick Ware Racing Ford 380 20 Laps
33 Garrett Smithley Rick Ware Racing Ford 377 23 Laps
34 Joey Logano Team Penske Ford 375 25 Laps
35 Ryan Blaney Team Penske Ford 297 Suspension
36 Chris Buescher JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 232 Engine
37 Reed Sorenson Spire Motorsports Chevrolet 180 Handling
38 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 8 Engine

Playoff standings

Pos Driver Points
1 Martin Truex Jr. 3095
2 Denny Hamlin 3080
3 Kyle Busch 3080
4 Kevin Harvick 3074
5 Kyle Larson 3063
6 Brad Keselowski 3052
7 Alex Bowman 3049
8 William Byron 3032
9 Joey Logano 3032
10 Clint Bowyer 3028
11 Chase Elliott 3025
12 Ryan Blaney 3010

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *