NASCAR Dover: Elliott wins in overtime to secure Playoff spot

Hendrick Motorsport’s Chase Elliot took victory in overtime at Dover to move into the third round of the NASCAR Cup playoffs.

Running in the top 10 for the majority of the race but outside the leading pack, Elliot had moved up to fourth when the penultimate caution came out on lap 392 of 400.

Elliot was one of three drivers to not jump into the pits along with Brad Keselowski and Martin Truex Jr. and led the restart before the race was quickly red flagged on lap 396 due to Aric Almirola clashing with Keselowski, which also involved Truex and Alex Bowman.

The race restarted in overtime conditions with Elliot leading Joe Gibbs Racing’s Denny Hamlin to take his second NASCAR Cup victory.

Stewart-Haas Racing’s Kevin Harvick led the majority of the race after passing Kyle Busch on lap 16 and looked to be the favourite to take the victory after winning the first two stages.

However Harvick had a loose wheel after a pitstop on lap 320 that sent him one lap down, with SHR team-mate Almirola inheriting the lead ahead of the third SHR Chevrolet driven by Clint Bowyer.

However Bowyer dropped down the order with 20 laps to go and pitted with an loose wheel, later bringing out the penultimate caution after hitting the wall in a single-car incident.

Team Penske’s Joey Logano finished up in third after running most of the third stage outside of the top five.

Erik Jones, who like his JGR team-mate Hamlin was not in playoff contention, rose from 10th to fourth before the final caution came out and kept the position at the chequered flag.

Harvick managed to get onto the lead lap when the first unplanned caution came out on lap 338 and made his way through the field to move up to eighth with 30 laps to go.

He eventually finished in sixth position behind the fourth SHR entry driven by Kurt Busch.

Austin Dillon came home in seventh ahead of Kyle Busch, who fell down the order during stage two and was running outside of the top 10 during the final stage until the red flag.

Result – 404 laps

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 3h18m02.s
2 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 0.265s
3 Joey Logano Team Penske Ford 21h41m58.s
4 Erik Jones Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 21h41m58.s
5 Kurt Busch Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 21h41m58.s
6 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 21h41m58.s
7 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 21h41m58.s
8 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 21h41m58.s
9 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Roush Fenway Racing Ford 21h41m58.s
10 Daniel Suarez Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 21h41m58.s
11 Ryan Blaney Team Penske Ford 21h41m58.s
12 Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 21h41m58.s
13 Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 21h41m58.s
14 Brad Keselowski Team Penske Ford 21h41m58.s
15 Martin Truex Jr. Furniture Row Racing Toyota 21h41m58.s
16 Paul Menard Wood Brothers Racing Ford 1 Lap
17 Ryan Newman Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 1 Lap
18 Jamie McMurray Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 2 Laps
19 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 2 Laps
20 Matt Kenseth Roush Fenway Racing Ford 2 Laps
21 Regan Smith Leavine Family Racing Chevrolet 3 Laps
22 A.J. Allmendinger JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 4 Laps
23 Darrell Wallace Jr. Richard Petty Motorsports Chevrolet 5 Laps
24 David Ragan Front Row Motorsports Ford 5 Laps
25 Chris Buescher JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 5 Laps
26 Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports Ford 5 Laps
27 Matt DiBenedetto Go FAS Racing Ford 7 Laps
28 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet Accident
29 Ty Dillon Germain Racing Chevrolet 8 Laps
30 Corey LaJoie TriStar Motorsports Chevrolet 10 Laps
31 Jeffrey Earnhardt Gaunt Brothers Racing Toyota 10 Laps
32 J.J. Yeley BK Racing Toyota 12 Laps
33 Landon Cassill StarCom Racing Chevrolet 14 Laps
34 B.J. McLeod Rick Ware Racing Ford 15 Laps
35 Clint Bowyer Stewart-Haas Racing Ford Accident
36 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 17 Laps
37 Ross Chastain Premium Motorsports Chevrolet Rear Gear
38 Harrison Rhodes Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet Brakes
39 Timmy Hill MBM Motorsports Toyota Transmission

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *